The 5 Napkin Burger Brand

The 5 Napkin Burger Brand

Looking for a Better Burger

Five-Napkin-Burger

When my friend Bruce wrote to me about the 5 Napkin Burger brand, my mouth watered. He immediately captured my attention. He hadn’t been out on the streets of Manhattan looking for a better burger brand — we’re both into market research and surveys — but what he saw on an awning caught his eye and stopped him in his tracks.

Here are Bruce’s words to me:

“Marketing brands don’t stop everybody in their tracks…

“I was in mid-town Manhattan a couple of weeks ago.

“The place is so full of energy it almost lifts you off your feet.

“It’s a little frenetic for me as a steady diet, as I am of the ‘Chromosomes California.’ Walking down 7th Avenue around Time Square is a sensory feast, and you can store the dynamism in your memory banks and revisit whenever you like.

“The streets around mid-town are awash with restaurants – restaurants of every size, flavor, ethnicity and price. I don’t know how they all stay in business, but, walking back to my hotel from a business meeting late on a breathtaking, May afternoon, I marveled at the culinary diversity.

“I wasn’t looking to stop and eat. I had fallen in love with a little place down the street from my hotel and was strolling down 9th Avenue to go there… when I was stopped dead in my tracks by a brand scrolled across the awning over the entrance to a restaurant.

(“Marketing brands don’t stop everybody in their tracks, but I’m a little odd that way.)

“The communication was so immediate and so strong that I almost abandoned the planned rendezvous with my cute little eatery down the street.

“The brand?

5 NAPKIN BURGER

“Five napkins! Whoa… This burger has got to be seriously juicy I thought.

“I got an instant image of a wickedly luscious hamburger and could feel the juice start to penetrate the napkins and leak onto my hand. The thought almost propelled me across 9th Avenue. But for a storming horde of antagonistic, horn-honking, New York cabbies, I might have made the dash.

“Instead, I just stared at the branded awning over the entrance and smiled. What a Great Name.

“True, you have to rank on the Burger Aficionado scale to appreciate my reaction. My vegetarian daughter and her Vegan husband, both trim and healthy Sports Illustrated specimens, would react… eh, less favorably.

“Me? I love a good burger, and trim bodies are overrated. And I was near the Original 5 Napkin Burger!

five napkin burger

“In case you can’t read the description, it says, ‘The name says it all. 10 oz. fresh ground chuck, Gruyere cheese, caramelized onions and rosemary aioli on a soft white roll. Way too juicy for one napkin. Or four.’

“Lest you think it’s all burgers, this place has a fabulous menu. Take a look.

“There are five locations now – three in Manhattan, one in Boston and one in Miami.

Can I get an ‘Amen’ for an L.A. opening?

Premium Burger Chains Resurgence

“Premium burger chains are experiencing a mouth-watering resurgence these days. Here in LA, Umami Burger has expanded handsomely. However,the brand itself isn’t driving the expansion – one has to do research online to find out what it even means.

“The tastes of sweet, salty, bitter and sour are familiar, but there is a fifth taste we can perceive with our tongue, called umami (Japanese: ‘deliciousness’), described as rounded, rich and savory.umami-diagram-300x300

“Umami is a cool word but a foggy brand. The Umami Restaurants phenomenon is not driven by the esoteric Japanese name, but by word-of-mouth about some of the seriously most-delicious burgers on Planet Earth.

“Another upscale burger chain blossoming across the California Southland is ‘The Counter.’ They have an extraordinary variety of toppings and sauces and other add ons. Good burgers, but their brand doesn’t really tell their story. I drove by one of their locations several times, thinking it was some kind of deli.

“I’m not a restaurant critic. As you know, I do marketing surveys, positioning and branding, but you and I don’t have to be a marketing professional to understand which of the three is the better burger brand:

  • 5 Napkin Burger
  • Umami Burger
  • The Counter

Loving the Brand

“Personally, I love the 5 Napkin Burger brand and I have this to look forward to the next time I’m in Manhattan. I’m going to do 5 Napkin Burger proud. Maybe you’d like to join me?”

# # #

Bruce and I can also do your business ‘proud,’ whether you need help with your brand or simply want to improve your marketing campaign outlook and increase your sales results. It’s what we do. We conduct surveys that drive sales.

OnTarget logo

Call or email us. Bruce and I have been at it for 27-plus years. Let’s see what kind of on-target market research targets we can do for your business.

Ron Kule, Research Target Group, for On-Target Research.

727-215-2125   researchtargetgroup@gmail.com

TESTIMONIAL

“’We did not have the slightest concept of how incredible On Target would prove to be or actual return would be on our investment…. When we implemented On Target’s survey findings our profits increased and our marketing costs decreased.” CEO

© 2014 by Ronald Joseph Kule and Research Target Group. All Rights Reserved.

About Ronald Joseph Kule, Author/Biographer

Internationally published author, biographer, ghostwriter, and experienced keynote speaker (17 countries). I write/ghostwrite biographies and memoirs on contract on time. Always five-star quality and reviews. (See biography: CHEF TELL The Biography of America's Pioneer TV Showman Chef, on Amazon.) My LISTEN MORE SELL MORE books and training workshops have been acclaimed by international corporate sales consultants. (I deliver on contract only.) I will ghostwrite and edit books for clients on contract. Inquiries to commission a biography or legacy memoir, a sales-training workshop, a blog, or a keynote speech should be emailed to kulebooksllc@gmail.com. All comments and posts are welcome.
This entry was posted in blog posts, health, market research, products, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's your opinion today?

